With spirits and liqueurs, an ingredient list can be hard to find and in the cases of centuries-old secret recipes, sometimes impossible to find. So if you’re someone with a vegan diet, how do you know what spirits foot the bill? Well, these 10 spirits do, added to a cocktail or imbibed neat.
Everyone’s favorite floral liqueur is completely vegan and gluten-free. Now you can continue to throw an ounce of this in your Champagne.
For a small distillery in Chicago, the spirits by Few have been well received by the masses. In case you need another reason to love the distiller, its rye whiskey is completely vegan-friendly. Oh, yeah, the same goes for its bourbon, gin, white whiskey and everything else in its roster.
With a name like The Botanist, it’s probably no surprise this gin is vegan-friendly. Made from wheat-based ethanol and foraged botanicals, this Scottish spirit is a delight for anyone who wants to try something new.
Yes, Kahlúa and the products on its line are vegan—mostly. This rum-based coffee liqueur has no animal byproducts and doesn’t use any during production, so feel free to reach for that French vanilla flavor. However, steer clear of its pre-made cocktails, for they may contain milk.