Pints of Guinness at Gravity Bar at Guinness Storehouse.
Something’s fishy about Guinness. The 256-year-old Irish beer producer has been using isinglass, a fish swim bladder byproduct, during filtration.
Although the use of isinglass to help yeast settle faster does not contribute to the stout’s flavor or texture, the process does leave behind small particles of fish in the final product, making it unsuitable for vegan and vegetarians. However, a spokesperson for Diageo, the multinational booze conglomerate that owns Guinness,told Time that the company plans on implementing a new filtration system at St. James’ Gate Brewery in 2016. The system, which will eradicate the need for isinglass, addresses the concerns of Guinness-petitioning, beer-loving vegans and vegetarians.
Read more about Guinness’ path to vegan-friendly brewing at The Independent.